This website uses cookies. Continuing implies that you agree with our use of cookies. I agree. Learn more

Free piano sheet music from Grand Funk Railroad

About Grand Funk Railroad

Grand Funk Railroad is a hard rock band from the United States of America that enjoyed success in the 70s.

With a style influenced by blues rock and arena rock, Grand Funk Railroad was received very well by the public, tons of fans paying for tickets to their concerts, which were sold-out most of the times.

The name of the band comes from a rail line from Flint, Michigan, their home town.

They started as a trio, but in 1969 they became a four-man band consisting of Mark Farner, Mel Schacher, Don Brewer. They played at the Atlanta Pop Festival and signed with Capitol Records afterwards. Their first album got released in 1969, titled "On Time", managing to sell over 1 million times, getting certified Gold one year later.

In 1970 they released "Closer to Home", which spawned "I’m Your Captain (Closer to Home)", a single that became a hit, helping the album get multi-Platinum status. The "Live Album" got released that same year and achieved Gold status as well, followed by "Survival" and "E Pluribus Funk" in 1971.

Moving to a more blues and pop-rock style, Grand Funk Railroad released the album "Phoenix" in 1972, followed by probably their best albums ever, "We’re an American Band" and "Shinin’ On", spawning "We’re an American Band" and "The Loco-Motion" as hit singles which topped the charts.

Grand Funk Railroad toured internationally, in places such as the US, Europe and even Japan. In 1975 they released "All the Girls in the World Beware!!!", with other top ten hits such as "Bad Time" and "Some Kind of Wonderful". The album "Caught in the Act" followed, then "Born to Die" and "Good Singin’, Good Playin’" in 1976.

Their last two albums were "Grand Funk Lives" in 1981 and "What’s Funk?" in 1983. In 1996, the band reunited to play for several concerts, including three benefits ones in Bosnia. In 2005, they concerted in New York, one year later, in Orlando, FL. In 2011, they started the Molson Canal Series Concert and started touring, in 2014 beginning their "45 YEARS OF GRAND FUNK" tour.

Grand Funk Railroad
Lineup:- Don Brewer
- Mel Schacher
- Max Carl
- Tim Cashion
- Bruce Kulick
Origin:Flint, Michigan, United States
Genres:Hard Rock, Blues Rock
Years Active:1969–1976, 1981–1983, 1996–present
Labels:Full Moon, Capitol, MCA
Discography:- On Time (1969)
- Grand Funk (1969)
- Closer To Home (1970)
- Survival (1971)
- E Pluribus Funk (1971)
- Phoenix (1972)
- We're An American Band (1973)
- Shinin' On (1974)
- All the Girls in the World Beware!!! (1974)
- Born to Die (1976)
- Good Singin', Good Playin' (1976)
- Grand Funk Lives (1981)
- What's Funk? (1983)
Official year when they were formed:1969
Other members:- Mark Farner
- Craig Frost
- Dennis Bellinger
- Howard Eddy, Jr.

Grand Funk Railroad sheet music list (1 in total)

Comments (0) - What's your opinion?

No comments yet. What's on your mind? Any thoughts?
Your email address will not be published.